Amendment 2 has changed the medical marijuana laws in Florida after Governor Scott signed the bill on Friday. It was passed by state lawmakers earlier this month.
The bill implements Amendment 2, which expands medical marijuana use in the state. The law had to be in place by July 3 and enacted by October, reported Bay News 9.
Amendment 2 expands the types of patients who can qualify for low-THC cannabis or full strength medical marijuana, and also allows for 10 new medical marijuana treatment centers in the state by Oct. 3, on top of the seven currently operating.
Strangely, the bill actually bans smoking medical marijuana. Supporter and Orlando attorney John Morgan has indicated he may sue the state because of the ban. If not, there will likely be another group that will take up the cause and sue for their right to smoke non tobacco plants.
Thank you @FLGovScott for doing your part!
— John Morgan (@JohnMorganESQ) June 23, 2017
Until the potential court case is brought forth and settled, medical marijuana users will be able to vape, use infusions and edibles to get the medical marijuana, but not burn it.
Bay 9 News listed some of the details of the bill:
Anyone with a debilitating medical condition can receive the drug:
- Positive status for HIV
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig’s Disease)
- Crohn’s disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Medical conditions in the same class or comparable to the above conditions
- A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician
- Chronic nonmalignant pain
HOW DOCTORS DECIDE IF YOU CAN HAVE IT
A doctor must be properly trained in order to issue a certificate to a patient on medical marijuana. That includes the completion of a 2-hour course and a test.
The doctor must conduct a physical examination with a full assessment of the patient’s medical history and diagnose them with one of the medical conditions above. They also have to make sure the patient is not registered for medical marijuana use with any other doctor.
The doctor then issues a certification (not a prescription) and adds the patient to the state’s medical marijuana use registry.
The bill gets rid of a previous requirement that the patient must see the same doctor over a 90-day period before the doctor can sign off on medical marijuana.
Patients will get a registry ID card from the state. The state is expected to begin issuing the patient ID cards by Oct. 3.
You can find a qualified doctor on the Florida Dept. of Health website.
For now, it looks like more Florida residents will be able to legally use the herb, but not the good old fashioned smoking way. Florida seems to prefer a more delicious edible way.
(Article By Jeremiah Jones)